Norfolk Community Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Are Those Darn Teachers Still Complaining About Their Salaries?

+4
Ruby Tuesday
growler
kishgo
Spidubic
8 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Are Those Darn Teachers Still Complaining About Their Salaries? Empty Are Those Darn Teachers Still Complaining About Their Salaries?

Post by Spidubic Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:33 pm

I copied the text here for those who do not have Facebook. Interesting read.

An opinion piece, by Karen Nancarrow, Ontario Certified Teacher

I’ve just read one too many teacher bashing posts on Facebook today.

As a teacher, I will of course, provide a slanted opinion, but here you are. Disagree with me if you’d like, but not until you read this entire article, start to finish.

I love my job. Period. I would do it for less money, fewer sick days, and less time off. I would do it if I had to be tested yearly by the government to show that I know my stuff, and even if extra-curriculars were forced on me. I would still do it. I love it.

I went into teaching because I love kids. Yes, there are many people who think we go into this profession for the money, but please consider this. A starting teacher’s salary in our school board is $39 000. And this is after an average of 5-7 years to get a contract. In order to move up on the pay grid, teachers must have years of experience (so our salary goes up a little every year up to a maximum of 10 years) and we must also take extra courses in order to be paid the maximum amount. So in order to reach the top of the pay scale, a teacher must have had a contract for 10 years and have taken several extra university credits (paid out of their own pockets AFTER two university degrees).